RSS Feed

Traditional Scones

Posted on

What better way to kick off the blog with my very first batch of scones. I love scones and I am sure a lot of people can relate to that. I always thought that you ought to have special skills to bake scones but I was told that it is not that hard. Well, if I can make them, surely anyone can.

It was a day out at a friend’s house where we girls get together and stitch! What a great excuse to bring along some fresh, homemade scones. I know there are a number of scones expert out there but this is how I made mine…quick and easy. Literally, in just a few minutes they were out from the oven and seconds later they were in the car with me. The smell of freshly baked scones filled my car, what a pleasant drive. The scones were still nice and warm by the time I arrived. The girls enjoyed them as much as I did…deliciousness!!

Traditional Scones
Makes about 20

I served them with fresh-whipped cream and raspberry jam

Ingredients

4 cups self-raising flour
2 tablespoon sugar
60 gram butter
1 1/2 cups milk
3/4 cup water (approximately)

Method

1. Preheat oven to 220°C/200°C fan-forced oven. Grease tray.
2. Sift flour and sugar into a large bowl; rub in butter with fingertips resembling fine breadcrumbs.
3. Make a well in centre of flour mixture; add milk and most of the water. Use a butter knife to mix through the mixture. Add more water if mixture is not moist enough. Knead dough on floured surface until smooth.
4. Press dough into 2cm thickness. Dip a 5cm round cutter in flour, cut as many rounds as you can from the dough. Place scones on tray, about 1cm apart.
5. Gently knead rest of dough and repeat process. Brush tops with milk, bake for about 15 minutes or until scones are just browned.

So, when was the last time you baked some scones? Appreciate your comments.

Enjoy!

 

4 responses »

  1. Welcome to the world of Blogging! Your scones look really great. I have just been testing different scone recipes, and have blogged about it. My recipe is a bit different, as it uses baking powder and lemon juice to help them rise!

    Reply
  2. As one of the first people to benefit from Rina’s scones – I can do nothing but highly recommend that you try this recipe! Very yummy Rina!

    Reply

What Do You Think?

