RSS Feed

‘Beurre Bosc’ Pear Yoghurt Muffins

On my recent visit to our local Fyshwick Fresh Food Markets, I can’t help but noticed an abundance of good-looking ‘Beurre Bosc’ brown pears. I’ve eaten them before and they are good to snack on. With their soft and buttery texture, they taste so sweet and juicy. It has always been on my mind to try something different with these pears but I never get around to doing it. What a timing…with a tub of yoghurt sitting in my fridge, I thought let’s try baking some Muffins!

I must admit that I cannot remember when was the last time I used yoghurt in baking muffins and as I was searching for some recipes, I came across this recipe on Taste.com.au , I thought, well, with some tweaking I could use this recipe.

20120621-232302.jpg

‘Beurre Bosc’ Pear Muffins
(Makes 12)

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups self-raising flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup plain natural yoghurt
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
2/3 cup grape seed oil
3 ‘Beurre Bosc’ Pears, roughly diced
Cinnamon, to sprinkle on the top of muffins (optional)

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Prepare 12 muffin cups in a 1/3 cup-capacity muffin pan. Sift flour and sugar into a bowl.
2. Combine yoghurt, egg, vanilla essence, oil and chopped pears in a large bowl. Gradually add dry ingredients, stirring until just combined.
3. Spoon mixture into muffin holes (do not fill it up to the top as the muffin will rise) and sprinkle with some cinnamon powder. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
4. Stand muffins in pan for a few minutes and then turn them onto a wire rack to cool completely.
5. Serve them warm or at room temperature.

20120621-233805.jpg

20120621-233827.jpg

I was very pleased as how they turn out. The pears hold its shaped quite well, overall the muffins were soft and fluffy as the clouds!

Have you cooked or baked something using these brown pears? I would love to try out different recipes using pears.

What Do You Think?

